Saurashtra beat Maharashtra in Vijay Hazare Trophy Final

Mridul Panda

Mridul Panda

Dec 02, 2022


2 Min Read

Saurashtra beat Maharashtra in Vijay Hazare Trophy Final

Follow Sportzhut on Google News for more updates.

After winning the toss Saurashtra’s captain Jaydev Unadkat choose to bowl in the Vijay Hazare Trophy Final against Maharashtra. The match was on the biggest cricket ground in the world, Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad. Saurashtra beat Maharashtra in Vijay Hazare Trophy final by 5 Wickets.

Hundred for Ruturaj Gaikwad in Vijay Hazare Trophy Final

Maharashtra openers Ruturaj Gaikwad & Pavan Shah came to bat but started a bit slow at first. Although the wickets were falling on the other side, Maharashtra captain Ruturaj Gaikwad continued his batting on the other site. After 30 overs Ruturaj shifted the batting to hit more boundaries. On 42nd over Ruturaj reached his fifth hundred in the tournament. This year in Vijay Hazare Trophy, Ruturaj had some great knocks. 220* in the Quarterfinal, 168 in the semi-final and 108 runs in the final. Ruturaj got run out in the next over and Maharashtra posted a total of 248 in their 50 overs with the loss of 9 wickets. Chirag Jani of Saurashtra got 3 wickets which included a hat-trick.

Saurashtra beat Maharashtra in Vijay Hazare Trophy

On the chasing Saurashtra openers, Harvik Desai & Sheldon Jackson put on a 125-run partnership for the first wicket. Harvik Desai got out after fifty. But Sheldon Jackson stayed on the crease till the end and took Saurashtra to the win. Saurashtra won the Vijay Hazare Trophy Final by 5 wickets. Sheldon Jackson scored 133* of 136 balls. Here is the winning moment –

Saurashtra Trophy lifting

Saurashtra captain Jaydev Unadkat receives the Vijay Hazare Trophy from the hands of Jay Shah, Honorary Secretary, BCCI. Sheldon Jackson received the man of the match award for his match-winning innings of 133. Here is the trophy-lifting video –

Man of the tournament Ruturaj Gaikwad

Maharashtra captain Ruturaj Gaikwad received the man of the tournament for this mindblowing performance throughout the tournament. Ruturaj Gaikwad played only 5 matches in this Vijay Hazare Trophy. But he scored 4 centuries in his 5 innings and one of them is 220* in the quarterfinal. He scored 660 runs in total in just 5 innings with an average of 220.00. Here are some photos from the final –

More Interesting Articles

Do you love Cricket and want to get the latest updates?

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates right in your inbox.

Contact Us

Send us a message and we will get back to you as soon as possible