T20 World Cup Player of the tournament winners

Mridul Panda

Mridul Panda

Nov 06, 2022


4 Min Read

T20 World Cup Player of the tournament winners

Follow Sportzhut on Google News for more updates.

The ICC T20 world cup started in the year 2007 and since then ICC has organized the T20 World cup in every 2 years. We have seen Chris Gayle’s hundred in the opening match and we have seen Yuvraj Singh’s 6 sixes in an over against England. But none of them got the Player of the tournament award. Player of the tournament is only given to the player who performed well in all the matches in the tournament. So here is the list of T20 World Cup Player of the tournament winners,

T20 World Cup Player of the tournament winners

2007Shahid AfridiPakistan12 wickets and 91 runs
2009Tillakaratne DilshanSri Lanka317 runs
2010Kevin PietersenEngland248 runs
2012Shane WatsonAustralia249 runs and 11 wickets
2014Virat KohliIndia319 runs
2016Virat KohliIndia273 runs and 1 wicket
2021David WarnerAustralia289 runs
2022Sam CurranEngland13 Wickets
List Updated till 6th Nov 2022

Shahid Afridi – 2007 T20 World Cup

Shahid Afridi’s brilliant performances with the ball made him lethal and eventually won him the Player of the Tournament award. Shahid Afridi was the fourth-highest wicket-taker in the tournament, bagging 12 wickets at 15.66. His best performance came against Scotland, with figures of 4/19. Afridi also scored 91 runs in 7 matches, and his highest score was 46.

Also Read: Highest wicket-takers in each edition of T20 World Cup

Tillakaratne Dilshan – 2009 T20 World Cup

Former Sri Lanka batter Tillakaratne Dilshan was the most destructive batter during the 2009 T20 World Cup in England. He ended the tournament as the leading run-scorer, with 317 runs in seven matches which came at a mindboggling 52.83 and a strike rate of 144.74.

Dilshan also smashed three half-centuries in the tournament, with his best score of 96* coming against West Indies in the semi-final.

Kevin Pietersen – 2010 T20 World Cup

Former England batter Kevin Pietersen scored the second-most runs in the tournament, piling up 248 runs at a 62.00 avg. He also smashed two fifties with the best score of 73* which came against Pakistan.

Shane Watson (2012 T20 World Cup)

Former Australia all-rounder Shane Watson won the Player of the Tournament in the 2012 edition of the T20 World Cup, where he ended up as the leading run-scorer and the second-highest wicket-taker.


Virat Kohli 2014 T20 World Cup

The Indian batting superstar Virat Kohli was at his magnificent best during the 2014 edition of the tournament in Bangladesh. He scored 319 runs in only six matches at a blistering average of 106.33 and a strike rate of 129.14. His 319 in the tournament is the still most run in a single T20 world cup. Kohli also smashed four half-centuries in the tournament.

Also Read: Top Runs Scorers in each T20 World Cup

Virat Kohli 2016 T20 World Cup

Virat Kohli became the first player in T20 World Cup history to win two Player of the Tournament awards. He was the second-highest scorer in the tournament after Bangladesh’s Tamim Iqbal. Kohli scored 273 runs in just five matches.

He scored three half-centuries, with knocks of an unbeaten 89 against West Indies and 82 not out against Australia being the highlights.

Also read: Centuries in T20 World Cup

David Warner – 2021 T20 World Cup

No one would have guessed that Australia opener David Warner will win the Man of the Tournament in the 2021 T20 World Cup in UAE as he was struggling to score runs prior to the tournament. But Warner was back to his devastating best when it mattered the most as he scored 289 runs in seven matches to finish the tournament as the second-highest run-scorer after Pakistan skipper Babar Azam.


Also Read: Prize Money in T20 World Cup 2022 for Every Team

Sam Curran – 2022 T20 World Cup

Sam Curran is named the Player of the Tournament for the 2022 T20 World Cup. He took 13 wickets at an avg of 11.38. He also got a five-wicket haul in the group-stage match against Afghanistan. Even he got 3 wickets for just 12 runs in the final against Pakistan.

More Interesting Articles

Do you love Cricket and want to get the latest updates?

Subscribe to our newsletter and get the latest updates right in your inbox.

Contact Us

Send us a message and we will get back to you as soon as possible